City Planner for Elvenar

open planner

Important


This is an early Alpha release. Only limited functionality is available.

city planner


Before start


You should register at FoeManager. Those who have registered on FoE City Planner before September 5 can use their existing account


Localization


city planner

  • Currently, city planner interface is available in English only. However, buildings' data (name, description etc) is available in all in-game languages. To set your language, use drop down menu on the login page.

How to create new city


city planner
city planner

  • Login to your account.
  • Click on Create New City button.
  • You can start from scratch
  • Or you can import the city from the game. For this, select corresponding option from the menu, choose game server and world and type player’s name. It’s better to type the whole player’s name. There is a chance to import the city of the player with similar name otherwise. Player's name is the name which appear in rankings window in Elvenar game.
  • New tile will appear on the Dashboard after the city has been successfully created.
  • You can set city name during creation process. Better to make names unique but this is not mandatory.

Working with the planner


  • Click on any tile on the Dashboard to load the city.
  • New info and options will appear at the top toolbar when the city is loaded. You will see city name and buttons for different actions.
  • Do not forget to save the progress from time to time.
  • To delete the city, hover over gear icon on the tile (on the Dashboard) and select Delete from the menu. You will not be able to undo this action.
  • To duplicate the city, hover over gear icon on the tile (on the Dashboard) and select Duplicate from the menu.

Toolbar


city planner

  • Buttons on toolbar are: Dashboard, Save, Selection mode, Construction mode, Zoom out, Zoom to default and center, Zoom in, Plain view

Constructing the city


  • There are 2 modes in the planner – selection and construction, and you can switch between them with corresponding buttons. The construction mode is the default.
  • Construction mode reveals construction menu. It is the list with all available buildings, sorted by type.
  • City territory has same shape as in the game. Some areas are locked. You need to add expansions to unlock new territory. To do this, select corresponding option in the Construction menu.
  • To add new building to the city – click on the item in construction menu, move the mouse in the desired location, click the left mouse button again. You can keep adding same building/road until you select another city entity or cancel the process.
  • You can place the building on any unblocked part or around the map
  • To change the level of the building which you are going to place, use numeric stepper at the bottom of Construction menu
  • To move the building on the map – click on the building, then perform similar steps like when you put the new one.
  • To cancel selection of the building – either click right mouse button or hit Esc on the keyboard.
  • To delete the building – click on the building and hit Delete/Backspace on the keyboard
  • To move the map – press and hold left mouse button and start moving. You can perform this action when some building is selected too.
  • To change map scale – either use mouse wheel or corresponding buttons on the toolbar.
  • You can hide the graphics of all buildings to better locate unused space and check street connections. There is a button for this action on the toolbar.
  • Selection mode lets you access information and settings of concrete building. Currently, the only setting is to change building's level.
  • Do not forget to save the progress from time to time. Confirmation will appear at the bottom of the screen when the city has been successfully saved.

City sharing


  • You can share the city you made in the planner with others.
  • To do this, click on Share menu which is available for each dashboard item (hover over gear icon on the tile to reveal the menu). New dialog will appear. Click on Start sharing button to make your city public. You will get alphanumeric sharing Tag. Click on Copy tag button to copy the string to clipboard. Send this tag to anyone you want. For convenience, all shared cities are marked with dedicated icon on dashboard.
  • You can continue editing shared city as you always do. Note, modifications are not synced with those who has imported your city previously. However, all new imports will contain your modifications.
  • To load shared city, click on Add new city button on Dashboard, select Load shared city option, paste or type tag, (optionally, change city name) and click OK. You should get new city added to your Dashboard. From now, this new city has no connection to original one.
  • To stop sharing, click on Share menu which is available for each dashboard item. The dialog will appear. Click on Stop sharing button. Nobody can load this city with previous tag now. You can start sharing same city again. However, completely new tag will be generated.